California state disability insurance tax 2011

Employers in California pay both federal and state unemployment insurance.

State unemployment tax is used to provide temporary benefits to eligible workers who became unemployed through no fault of their own, as defined by California law. An employee who lost his job due to shortage of work or a reduction in staff is usually eligible for benefits. People who quit their jobs for no good reason or were fired for misconduct do not qualify for unemployment. A proper reason for quitting would be discrimination or unsafe working conditions. An employee who was fired because he lacked the required skills for the job should be able to collect unemployment.

State disability insurance tax is used to provide short-term payments to employees who are unable to work due to pregnancy or a non-job-related illness or injury. Employees in California must meet eligibility requirements to qualify for SDI. For example, the employee must be unable to perform his regular job for a minimum of eight days in a row. He should also have a job or be actively seeking employment when he became disabled. The disability must be the reason for his loss of wages.

Employers pay state unemployment insurance at their designated annual rate, up to the yearly wage limit. The rate is determined by the length of time the employer has been in business, the employer’s industry and the amount of former employees who have claimed benefits on the employer’s account. As of the time of publication, new employers in California pay SUI at 3.4 percent for two to three years on the first $7,000 paid to each employee. Thereafter, the employer is assigned an experience rate.

As of the time of publication, employers withhold state disability insurance from employees’ wages at 0.9 percent, up to $104,378 for the year. The most an employer can withhold per employee is $939.40. The rate -- which is subject to change yearly -- includes disability insurance and paid family leave.

The most an employee can receive for unemployment is $450 per week, as of the publication date. Disability insurance has a maximum weekly amount of $1,104. Generally, unemployment benefits are available for up to 52 weeks and disability benefits for up to 26 weeks. Under California law, applicants cannot receive unemployment and disability insurance at the same time.

Related Posts

California state insurance claim

California’s Unclaimed Property Law requires banks, insurance companies, corporations, and c...

California state insurance commissions

Do you earn commissions from your California employer? If so, you should be aware that Califor...

California state insurance exchange

Yesterday, the California Health Insurance Exchange announced which carriers intend to offer i...

California state unemployment insurance rates

Every year, your unemployment insurance rate is determined by the unemployment agency for each...

California state university sacramento student health insurance

The Student Health Center provides high-quality, affordable health care and health education f...

California truckers insurance

Whether you're an independent owner operator, motor carrier, or a private trucker, we speciali...

California unemployment insurance 1099 g

We use form 1099-G Report of State Income Tax Refund, Credit, Offset to report amounts that we...

California unemployment insurance appeals board address

Created by the Legislature in 1943, the California Unemployment InsuranceAppeals Boa...

California unemployment insurance benefit

If you live in the state of California and have lost your job. through no fault of your own, y...

California unemployment insurance code definition misconduct

The necessary elements needed in order to establish disqualifying misconduct are knowledge, cu...

California unemployment insurance codes

In California, all employers must meet workplace posting obligations. Workplace postings are u...

Call me insurance

When your car or home suffers damage, you may wonder if it’s covered under your insuranc...